How to start a home care agency in Wisconsin
Wisconsin does not require a state license for a home care agency, according to Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Quality Assurance (DQA). No state license for private-pay non-medical home care; Medicaid personal care agencies need DQA certification (DHS 105.17).
- License required
- NoNone for private-pay non-medical care. Medicaid personal care requires Personal Care Agency (PCA) certification under Wis. Admin. Code DHS 105.17.
- Application fee
- See details
- Processing time
- —
- Personal care / attendant care (hourly)
- $5.25per 15-min.
- Organizations in the state
- 867NPPES, Sep 13, 2026
On this page
Wisconsin home care agency license
Wisconsin does not require a state license for a home care agency, according to Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Quality Assurance (DQA). No state license for private-pay non-medical home care; Medicaid personal care agencies need DQA certification (DHS 105.17).
- License required
- No
- License
- None for private-pay non-medical care. Medicaid personal care requires Personal Care Agency (PCA) certification under Wis. Admin. Code DHS 105.17.
- Fee
- DQA charges an application fee for PCA certification (veterans may qualify for a waiver); the amount is not stated on the DQA page.
- Processing time
- For PCA certification, DQA approves or denies a complete application within 90 days; approval lasts 1 year, and the agency must request an on-site survey within 9 months.
- Survey and inspection
- PCA certification requires a DQA on-site survey against DHS 105.17 and DHS 107.112 before Medicaid certification.
- Regulation
- Wis. Stat. 50.49 (home health agencies); Wis. Admin. Code DHS 105.17 and DHS 107.112 (personal care providers/services)
Steps to get licensed in Wisconsin
In order, as the licensing agency describes the process.
- (Medicaid PCA route) Review DHS 105.17 and DHS 107.112 and watch DQA's PCA forum webinars
- Submit the PCA application and policies through the DHS DQA Provider Portal
- Complete entity background checks for all owners/operators through the portal
- DQA does a fit-and-qualified review (finances, personnel, background, operating history, fees) and an RN surveyor reviews policies
- Within 9 months of approval, serve at least 5 personal care clients and request the on-site survey (show care to at least 2 clients during the survey)
- After a successful survey DQA recommends Medicaid certification; then enroll with Wisconsin Medicaid
What you need to submit
3 documents listed by the licensing agency.
Enrolling as a Wisconsin Medicaid provider
- Program
- Wisconsin Medicaid / BadgerCare Plus (ForwardHealth, Wisconsin Department of Health Services)
- Fiscal agent
- Gainwell Technologies (supports ForwardHealth interChange as the state's fiscal agent)
- Application fee
- ForwardHealth's handbook says some provider types owe the federally mandated application fee, which can change each year and offsets screening costs. It may be due again at re-enrollment and, where applicable, at revalidation. Under the federal rule (42 CFR 455.460), institutional providers pay the CMS application fee when they first enroll, re-enroll or revalidate. The fee is $750 for calendar year 2026. Individual physicians and non-physician practitioners do not pay it. A fee already paid to Medicare or to another state's Medicaid program counts.
- Fingerprinting
- ForwardHealth assigns limited, moderate or high risk, mostly using CMS's levels, and screens at enrollment, re-enrollment and revalidation. Under federal rules (42 CFR 455.434 and 455.450), the state places provider types in 'limited', 'moderate' or 'high' risk levels. High-risk providers, and anyone who owns 5% or more of one, must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check.
- Site visit
- Screening follows the assigned risk level at enrollment, re-enrollment and revalidation. For some provider types, such as supportive housing agencies, the DHS Office of Inspector General does a site visit before revalidation can be completed. Under federal rule (42 CFR 455.432), the state must visit moderate- and high-risk providers before and after enrollment. Every enrolled provider must allow unannounced on-site inspections.
- Revalidation
- Wisconsin revalidates every enrolled provider every three years, more often than the federal 5-year minimum. ForwardHealth mails a Provider Revalidation Notice giving the revalidation date (also visible via 'Check My Revalidation Date' on the secure Portal). Revalidation cannot start before that date, and the application, plus any fee, is due within 30 days after it. Providers who miss the deadline are terminated and must re-enroll with new screening and possibly another fee. During revalidation the provider re-signs the Provider Agreement and Acknowledgement of Terms of Participation.
Does Wisconsin require a certificate of need?
- CON program
- Yes
- Program
- Approval of nursing home and ICF/IID projects under Wis. Stat. ch. 150 (not called certificate of need)
- Services covered
- construction of new nursing homes
- nursing home bed capacity increases
- nursing home capital expenditures over $1,000,000 (excluding renovation or replacement)
- nursing home clinical equipment over $600,000 (excluding renovation or replacement)
- conversion between nursing home and facility primarily serving persons with developmental disabilities
- Moratoria
- The statute caps licensed nursing home beds statewide at 51,795 and beds in facilities primarily serving persons with developmental disabilities at 3,704. DHS may adjust the caps only as the statute allows and must recommend changes every two years (Wis. Stat. §150.31).
Electronic visit verification in Wisconsin
- Model
- hybrid
- State vendor
- Sandata
- Services in scope
- personal care
- supportive home care
- home health
- Alternate EVV allowed
- Yes
Wisconsin wage floor
- State minimum wage
- $7.25 an hour
- Effective
- 2009-07-24
- Scheduled increases
- No scheduled change found in the official sources reviewed.
- Rate pass-through
- State law directs DHS to work with care management organizations and CMS to raise the direct care and services portion of Family Care capitation rates to address direct caregiver workforce shortages (subject to federal approval).
- HCBS 80/20 rule
- Federal baseline: 42 CFR 441.302(k) requires the state to show that each provider spends at least 80% of Medicaid payments for homemaker, home health aide and personal care services under 1915(c) waivers on direct care worker pay and benefits. Compliance starts 2030-07-09 (for managed care, the first rating period starting on or after that date); annual payment-adequacy reporting under 441.311(e) starts 2028-07-09. A state may set a lower share for state-defined small providers and exempt providers facing hardship, each only through a public notice-and-comment process. The eCFR text has not changed since 2024-07-09. No state-published 80/20 implementation step (small-provider criteria, hardship exemption or reporting guidance) was found for this state in the official sources reviewed.
Wisconsin market size
Counts from federal public files: NPPES (active organization NPIs), CMS Care Compare and CMS Medicaid enrollment.
- Personal care / in-home supportive care organizations — active organization NPIs (NPPES)
- 867 (as of Sep 13, 2026)
- Total Medicaid and CHIP enrollment (latest reported month)
- 1,107,383 (as of Jun 1, 2026)
What Wisconsin Medicaid pays
Home care & personal care: published Wisconsin fee-for-service rates, each linked to its source.
| Service | Code | Wisconsin rate | Per hour | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal care / attendant care (hourly)Agency provider | S5108 | $5.25per 15-min. | — | — |
| Respite care (hourly)Agency provider | S5150 | $5.25per 15-min. | — | — |
| Respite care (daily)Agency provider | S9125 | $203.44per day | — | 21 of 34 |
| Adult day servicesClinical nurse specialist | S5105 | $2.63per day | — | — |
| Financial management services (self-direction)Self-directed worker | T2041 | $36.75per month | — | 14 of 14 |
Wisconsin HCBS waivers
Medicaid home and community-based services programs that may pay for this service.
- WI Children's Long-Term Support Waiver Program (1915(c))
- WI Family Care Waiver (1915(c))
- WI IRIS (Include, Respect, I Self-Direct) Waiver (1915(c))
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to start a home care agency in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin does not require a state license for a home care agency, according to Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Quality Assurance (DQA). No state license for private-pay non-medical home care; Medicaid personal care agencies need DQA certification (DHS 105.17).
How much does a home care agency license cost in Wisconsin?
DQA charges an application fee for PCA certification (veterans may qualify for a waiver); the amount is not stated on the DQA page.
How long does it take to get licensed in Wisconsin?
For PCA certification, DQA approves or denies a complete application within 90 days; approval lasts 1 year, and the agency must request an on-site survey within 9 months.
Does Wisconsin require a certificate of need for a home care agency?
Wisconsin has a certificate of need program covering: construction of new nursing homes, nursing home bed capacity increases, nursing home capital expenditures over $1,000,000 (excluding renovation or replacement), nursing home clinical equipment over $600,000 (excluding renovation or replacement), conversion between nursing home and facility primarily serving persons with developmental disabilities. Check whether your service is on that list.
How do you become a Medicaid provider in Wisconsin?
Enroll through ForwardHealth Portal — Become a Provider / Provider Enrollment Information (https://www.forwardhealth.wi.gov/WIPortal/Subsystem/Certification/CertificationHome.aspx), run by Gainwell Technologies (supports ForwardHealth interChange as the state's fiscal agent).
What does Wisconsin Medicaid pay a home care agency?
Wisconsin Medicaid pays $5.25 per 15-min. for personal care / attendant care (hourly), effective Jan 1, 2025.