Skip to content
Start a business · Home health agency · Massachusetts

How to start a home health agency in Massachusetts

Massachusetts requires a Home Health Agency license from Massachusetts Department of Public Health to operate a home health agency. Fee: Initial and renewal fees are set under M.G.L. c. 7 § 3B; amounts not stated in the statute.

Verified Oct 6, 2026Sources: state agencies, CMS and OIG

License required
YesHome Health Agency license
Application fee
See details
Processing time
—
Home health nurse visit (RN or LPN)
$89.21per visit
Organizations in the state
2,193NPPES, Sep 13, 2026
On this page
Licensing

Massachusetts home health agency license

Massachusetts requires a Home Health Agency license from Massachusetts Department of Public Health to operate a home health agency. Fee: Initial and renewal fees are set under M.G.L. c. 7 § 3B; amounts not stated in the statute.

License required
Yes
License
Home Health Agency license
Fee
Initial and renewal fees are set under M.G.L. c. 7 § 3B; amounts not stated in the statute.
Renewal
Every 3 years
Survey and inspection
DPH may conduct surveys and investigations to enforce compliance; fines up to $10,000 per day for operating without a license or violating the rules.
Medicare certification
A Medicare- or Medicaid-certified home health agency is deemed to meet the initial licensure application requirements.
Regulation
M.G.L. c. 111 § 51K (home health agency licensure)
How to apply

Steps to get licensed in Massachusetts

In order, as the licensing agency describes the process.

  1. Apply to DPH and show the organization is responsible and suitable to run a home health agency
  2. Medicare- or Medicaid-certified agencies are deemed to meet initial application requirements, subject to a suitability finding and any other DPH requirements
  3. Renew every three years
Medicaid

Enrolling as a Massachusetts Medicaid provider

Program
MassHealth (Massachusetts Medicaid and CHIP)
Fiscal agent
MassHealth Provider Enrollment and Credentialing (PEC) unit, run with Maximus (contact pec@maximus.com); MassHealth does not name a separate fiscal agent on its enrollment pages
Application fee
MassHealth charges the fee ($750 for 2026) only to acute, chronic, psychiatric and semi-acute inpatient hospitals, ICF-MR state schools and skilled nursing facilities not in Medicare, unless already paid to Medicare or another state. It is paid online (no paper checks), is non-refundable, and the payment confirmation goes with the application. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.460): the state must collect the CMS application fee from institutional providers that are newly enrolling or re-enrolling; individual physicians and non-physician practitioners are exempt, as are providers already enrolled in (or that already paid the fee to) Medicare or another state's Medicaid/CHIP. CMS set the fee at $750 for calendar year 2026.
Fingerprinting
MassHealth's high-risk types include adult foster care and group adult foster care providers, and newly enrolling continuous skilled nursing agencies, DME, home health, hospice, nursing facility, orthotics, oxygen/respiratory and prosthetics providers, plus any provider meeting federal high-risk criteria. These providers and their 5%+ owners get local and national fingerprint checks after MassHealth notifies them. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.434, 455.450(c)): providers the state places in the 'high' categorical risk level, and anyone owning 5% or more of such a provider, must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check.
Site visit
MassHealth's moderate-risk types (for example, those same agencies once enrolled, independent labs, IDTFs, mental health centers, physical therapists and ambulance providers) may get unannounced site visits from Medicare, MassHealth or both. MassHealth also has CMS-approved enrollment moratoria on new adult foster care (extended July 17, 2026) and adult day health (from May 19, 2026) agencies. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.432, 455.450(b)-(c)): the state must do site visits before and after enrollment for providers in the 'moderate' or 'high' risk levels, and any enrolled provider must allow unannounced on-site inspections.
Revalidation
MassHealth contacts providers when revalidation is due; providers then have 45 days to finish in the POSC, including an online attestation and, for non-Medicare providers, a Federally Required Disclosures Form. Providers that do not finish face sanctions or termination. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.414): every enrolled provider must be revalidated at least once every 5 years.

Full Massachusetts Medicaid enrollment guide →

Certificate of need

Does Massachusetts require a certificate of need?

CON program
Yes
Program
Determination of Need (DoN)
Services covered
  • hospitals and clinics
  • long-term care facilities, nursing homes, rest homes and charitable homes for the aged
  • clinical laboratories
  • publicly supported institutions for persons with developmental disabilities or mental illness
  • substantial capital expenditures and substantial changes in service
  • innovative services and new technology outside a health care facility
  • acquisition of existing health care facilities (notice; DoN required if services or beds change)

Massachusetts certificate of need details →

EVV

Electronic visit verification in Massachusetts

Model
hybrid
State vendor
Sandata (agency-based services); Tempus (fiscal intermediary for the consumer-directed PCA program)
Services in scope
  • personal care
  • home health
  • adult foster care
  • certain HCBS waiver services
Alternate EVV allowed
Yes

Massachusetts EVV requirements →

Labor

Massachusetts wage floor

State minimum wage
$15.00 an hour
Effective
2023-01-01
Scheduled increases
No scheduled change found in the official sources reviewed.
Rate pass-through
FY2026 budget line 1599-6903 (Chapter 257 reserve): any human service provider receiving Chapter 257 revenue must use at least 75% of those funds on pay for direct care, front-line and clinical staff; home care workers are eligible, with preference for staff earning under $20/hour.
HCBS 80/20 rule
Federal baseline: 42 CFR 441.302(k) requires the state to show that each provider spends at least 80% of Medicaid payments for homemaker, home health aide and personal care services under 1915(c) waivers on direct care worker pay and benefits. Compliance starts 2030-07-09 (for managed care, the first rating period starting on or after that date); annual payment-adequacy reporting under 441.311(e) starts 2028-07-09. A state may set a lower share for state-defined small providers and exempt providers facing hardship, each only through a public notice-and-comment process. The eCFR text has not changed since 2024-07-09. No state-published 80/20 implementation step (small-provider criteria, hardship exemption or reporting guidance) was found for this state in the official sources reviewed.
Market

Massachusetts market size

Counts from federal public files: NPPES (active organization NPIs), CMS Care Compare and CMS Medicaid enrollment.

Home health agencies — active organization NPIs (NPPES)
2,193 (as of Sep 13, 2026)
Medicare-certified home health agencies (CMS Care Compare)
287 (as of May 27, 2026)
Total Medicaid and CHIP enrollment (latest reported month)
1,525,312 (as of Jun 1, 2026)
Rates

What Massachusetts Medicaid pays

Home health: published Massachusetts fee-for-service rates, each linked to its source.

ServiceCodeMassachusetts ratePer hourRank
Home health nurse visit (RN or LPN)Registered nurseG0299$89.21per visit——
Home health aide visitAide or attendantG0156$6.73per 15 min$26.92—
Home health physical therapyPhysical therapistG0151$71.64per visit——
Home health occupational therapyOccupational therapistG0152$74.68per visit——
Home health speech therapySpeech-language pathologistG0153$76.44per visit——

All Massachusetts Home health Medicaid rates, ranked →

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a license to start a home health agency in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts requires a Home Health Agency license from Massachusetts Department of Public Health to operate a home health agency. Fee: Initial and renewal fees are set under M.G.L. c. 7 § 3B; amounts not stated in the statute.

How much does a home health agency license cost in Massachusetts?

Initial and renewal fees are set under M.G.L. c. 7 § 3B; amounts not stated in the statute. Renewal: Every 3 years.

Does Massachusetts require a certificate of need for a home health agency?

Massachusetts has a certificate of need program covering: hospitals and clinics, long-term care facilities, nursing homes, rest homes and charitable homes for the aged, clinical laboratories, publicly supported institutions for persons with developmental disabilities or mental illness, substantial capital expenditures and substantial changes in service, innovative services and new technology outside a health care facility, acquisition of existing health care facilities (notice; DoN required if services or beds change). Check whether your service is on that list.

How do you become a Medicaid provider in Massachusetts?

Enroll through MassHealth Provider Application Request Form (FFS) / MassHealth LTSS Provider Portal (LTSS programs); Provider Online Service Center (POSC) for enrolled providers and revalidation (https://www.mass.gov/how-to/apply-to-become-a-masshealth-provider), run by MassHealth Provider Enrollment and Credentialing (PEC) unit, run with Maximus (contact pec@maximus.com); MassHealth does not name a separate fiscal agent on its enrollment pages.

What does Massachusetts Medicaid pay a home health agency?

Massachusetts Medicaid pays $89.21 per visit for home health nurse visit (rn or lpn), effective Jul 1, 2020.