How to start a hospice in Montana
Montana requires a Hospice license — hospice program (in-home), in-patient hospice, or residential hospice from Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, Licensure Bureau to operate a hospice. Fee: A license fee must accompany the application; amount not stated in the Licensure Bureau letter. Processing time: Do not apply more than 6 months before the desired licensure date; submit policies and procedures at least 45 days before opening. A 6-month provisional license is issued first, with an on-site survey during that period.
- License required
- YesHospice license — hospice program (in-home), in-patient hospice, or residential hospice
- Application fee
- See details
- Processing time
- —
- Medicaid rate
- —
- Organizations in the state
- 63NPPES, Sep 13, 2026
On this page
Montana hospice license
Montana requires a Hospice license — hospice program (in-home), in-patient hospice, or residential hospice from Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, Licensure Bureau to operate a hospice. Fee: A license fee must accompany the application; amount not stated in the Licensure Bureau letter. Processing time: Do not apply more than 6 months before the desired licensure date; submit policies and procedures at least 45 days before opening. A 6-month provisional license is issued first, with an on-site survey during that period.
- License required
- Yes
- License
- Hospice license — hospice program (in-home), in-patient hospice, or residential hospice
- Issuing agency
- Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, Licensure Bureau
- Fee
- A license fee must accompany the application; amount not stated in the Licensure Bureau letter.
- Processing time
- Do not apply more than 6 months before the desired licensure date; submit policies and procedures at least 45 days before opening. A 6-month provisional license is issued first, with an on-site survey during that period.
- Certificate of need
- Not required
- Medicare certification
- Medicare certification is separate from the state license (state survey or CMS-approved accreditor). CMS imposed a nationwide 6-month moratorium on new Medicare hospice enrollments (including new practice locations) effective 2026-05-13, extendable in 6-month increments; applications received by the Medicare contractor before that date are still processed, accreditation cannot be used for deemed-status entry during the moratorium, and a hospice undergoing a non-exempt ownership change within 36 months of enrollment must re-enroll as new and is therefore blocked. The federal notice leaves Medicaid/CHIP hospice moratoria to each state.
- Regulation
- ARM Title 37, Chapter 106 (hospice rules incl. ARM 37.106.2305 in-patient hospice, 37.106.2311 residential hospice, 37.106.302 general facility standards)
Steps to get licensed in Montana
In order, as the licensing agency describes the process.
- Download and complete the hospice License Application and pay the fee (no earlier than 6 months before desired licensure)
- Submit policies and procedures for approval at least 45 days before opening
- Submit an attestation from the prospective administrator that the hospice rules were reviewed
- Inpatient/residential hospices: submit a floor plan and local building code approval (certificate of occupancy for new construction) and pass an on-site physical compliance inspection by the Bureau construction consultant
- Receive a 6-month provisional license
- Pass the on-site licensure survey during the provisional period
What you need to submit
5 documents listed by the licensing agency.
Enrolling as a Montana Medicaid provider
- Program
- Montana Healthcare Programs (Montana Medicaid, HELP/Medicaid expansion, Healthy Montana Kids Plus)
- Enrollment portal
- MPATH Provider Services Portal
- Fiscal agent
- Conduent (Montana Provider Relations handles enrollment and claims); DPHHS says claims move to Gainwell Technologies' new Montana Healthcare Claims System in 2027
- Application fee
- Under the federal rule (42 CFR 455.460), institutional providers pay the CMS application fee when they first enroll, re-enroll or revalidate. The fee is $750 for calendar year 2026. Individual physicians and non-physician practitioners do not pay it. A fee already paid to Medicare or to another state's Medicaid program counts. Montana's own pages do not list a separate state enrollment fee.
- Fingerprinting
- Under federal rules (42 CFR 455.434 and 455.450), the state places provider types in 'limited', 'moderate' or 'high' risk levels. High-risk providers, and anyone who owns 5% or more of one, must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check. Montana's screening and enrollment disclosure form restates these federal rules; it does not list which provider types are high risk.
- Site visit
- Under federal rule (42 CFR 455.432), the state must visit moderate- and high-risk providers before and after enrollment. Every enrolled provider must allow unannounced on-site inspections. Montana's screening and enrollment disclosure form restates these federal rules.
- Revalidation
- Federal rule (42 CFR 455.414) requires the state to revalidate every enrolled provider at least once every 5 years. Montana's enrollment page says sole-proprietor revalidations filed under a tax ID shared with another provider are denied.
Does Montana require a certificate of need?
- For this business
- Not required (licensing source)
- CON program
- Yes
- Program
- Certificate of Need (long-term care)
- Services covered
- long-term care facilities (skilled nursing, intermediate nursing and intermediate developmental disability care to 2+ individuals): new or replacement facilities, bed increases or relocations above 10 beds / 10%, acquisitions of 50%+ ownership
- new long-term care health services adding $150,000+ in annual operating and amortization expense
- hospital use of more than five beds for nursing-level care and hospital long-term care services
Montana wage floor
- State minimum wage
- $10.85 an hour
- Effective
- 2026-01-01
- Scheduled increases
- Adjusted each January 1 for inflation (calculated by September 30); the 2027 rate was not found in the sources reviewed.
- HCBS 80/20 rule
- Federal baseline: 42 CFR 441.302(k) requires the state to show that each provider spends at least 80% of Medicaid payments for homemaker, home health aide and personal care services under 1915(c) waivers on direct care worker pay and benefits. Compliance starts 2030-07-09 (for managed care, the first rating period starting on or after that date); annual payment-adequacy reporting under 441.311(e) starts 2028-07-09. A state may set a lower share for state-defined small providers and exempt providers facing hardship, each only through a public notice-and-comment process. The eCFR text has not changed since 2024-07-09. No state-published 80/20 implementation step (small-provider criteria, hardship exemption or reporting guidance) was found for this state in the official sources reviewed.
Montana market size
Counts from federal public files: NPPES (active organization NPIs), CMS Care Compare and CMS Medicaid enrollment.
- Hospice agencies (community based) — active organization NPIs (NPPES)
- 63 (as of Sep 13, 2026)
- Medicare-certified hospices (CMS Care Compare)
- 32 (as of Aug 19, 2026)
- Total Medicaid and CHIP enrollment (latest reported month)
- 205,414 (as of Jun 1, 2026)
What Montana Medicaid pays
Hospice: published Montana fee-for-service rates, each linked to its source.
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to start a hospice in Montana?
Montana requires a Hospice license — hospice program (in-home), in-patient hospice, or residential hospice from Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, Licensure Bureau to operate a hospice. Fee: A license fee must accompany the application; amount not stated in the Licensure Bureau letter. Processing time: Do not apply more than 6 months before the desired licensure date; submit policies and procedures at least 45 days before opening. A 6-month provisional license is issued first, with an on-site survey during that period.
How much does a hospice license cost in Montana?
A license fee must accompany the application; amount not stated in the Licensure Bureau letter.
How long does it take to get licensed in Montana?
Do not apply more than 6 months before the desired licensure date; submit policies and procedures at least 45 days before opening. A 6-month provisional license is issued first, with an on-site survey during that period.
Does Montana require a certificate of need for a hospice?
No, according to the licensing source. Montana's CON program covers: long-term care facilities (skilled nursing, intermediate nursing and intermediate developmental disability care to 2+ individuals): new or replacement facilities, bed increases or relocations above 10 beds / 10%, acquisitions of 50%+ ownership, new long-term care health services adding $150,000+ in annual operating and amortization expense, hospital use of more than five beds for nursing-level care and hospital long-term care services.
How do you become a Medicaid provider in Montana?
Enroll through MPATH Provider Services Portal (https://portal.mt.healthinteractive.net/icapPortal/), run by Conduent (Montana Provider Relations handles enrollment and claims); DPHHS says claims move to Gainwell Technologies' new Montana Healthcare Claims System in 2027.