How to start an assisted living facility in Kansas
Kansas requires a Adult care home license as an assisted living facility or residential health care facility. Boarding care homes and home plus are smaller adult care home licenses. from Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS), Survey, Certification and Credentialing Commission to operate an assisted living facility. Fee: Many adult care home licensure forms, including those for assisted living and residential health care facilities, must include a fee payable to KDADS. Amounts are on the individual forms and are not stated on the page. Credit card payments carry a 3.04% surcharge.
- License required
- YesAdult care home license as an assisted living facility or residential health care facility. Boarding care homes and home plus are smaller adult care home licenses.
- Application fee
- See details
- Processing time
- —
- Personal care / attendant care (hourly)
- $4.98per 15 min · $19.92/hr
- Organizations in the state
- 459NPPES, Sep 13, 2026
On this page
Kansas assisted living facility license
Kansas requires a Adult care home license as an assisted living facility or residential health care facility. Boarding care homes and home plus are smaller adult care home licenses. from Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS), Survey, Certification and Credentialing Commission to operate an assisted living facility. Fee: Many adult care home licensure forms, including those for assisted living and residential health care facilities, must include a fee payable to KDADS. Amounts are on the individual forms and are not stated on the page. Credit card payments carry a 3.04% surcharge.
- License required
- Yes
- License
- Adult care home license as an assisted living facility or residential health care facility. Boarding care homes and home plus are smaller adult care home licenses.
- Issuing agency
- Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS), Survey, Certification and Credentialing Commission
- Fee
- Many adult care home licensure forms, including those for assisted living and residential health care facilities, must include a fee payable to KDADS. Amounts are on the individual forms and are not stated on the page. Credit card payments carry a 3.04% surcharge.
- Medicaid waiver coverage
- HHS's 2015 compendium reported that KanCare, Kansas's combined 1115/1915(c) managed care program, pays for services in assisted living facilities.
- Regulation
- K.S.A. Chapter 39 (adult care homes) and KDADS assisted living / residential health care facility regulations
Enrolling as a Kansas Medicaid provider
- Program
- Kansas Medical Assistance Program (KMAP) / KanCare
- Enrollment portal
- KMAP provider portal (provider enrollment)
- Fiscal agent
- Gainwell Technologies (KMAP fiscal agent)
- Application fee
- Federal rule (42 CFR 455.460): the state must collect the CMS application fee from institutional providers that are newly enrolling or re-enrolling; individual physicians and non-physician practitioners are exempt, as are providers already enrolled in (or that already paid the fee to) Medicare or another state's Medicaid/CHIP. CMS set the fee at $750 for calendar year 2026.
- Fingerprinting
- KMAP's fingerprint FAQ says high-risk applicants may be printed by any authorized law enforcement agency, which mails the card to KDHE/DHCF in an envelope the provider supplies; the check takes about 5-10 business days. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.434, 455.450(c)): providers the state places in the 'high' categorical risk level, and anyone owning 5% or more of such a provider, must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check.
- Site visit
- Federal rule (42 CFR 455.432, 455.450(b)-(c)): the state must do site visits before and after enrollment for providers in the 'moderate' or 'high' risk levels, and any enrolled provider must allow unannounced on-site inspections.
- Revalidation
- Federal rule (42 CFR 455.414): every enrolled provider must be revalidated at least once every 5 years.
Does Kansas require a certificate of need?
- CON program
- No
Kansas wage floor
- State minimum wage
- $7.25 an hour
- Effective
- 2009-07-24
- Scheduled increases
- No scheduled change found in the official sources reviewed.
- HCBS 80/20 rule
- Federal baseline: 42 CFR 441.302(k) requires the state to show that each provider spends at least 80% of Medicaid payments for homemaker, home health aide and personal care services under 1915(c) waivers on direct care worker pay and benefits. Compliance starts 2030-07-09 (for managed care, the first rating period starting on or after that date); annual payment-adequacy reporting under 441.311(e) starts 2028-07-09. A state may set a lower share for state-defined small providers and exempt providers facing hardship, each only through a public notice-and-comment process. The eCFR text has not changed since 2024-07-09. No state-published 80/20 implementation step (small-provider criteria, hardship exemption or reporting guidance) was found for this state in the official sources reviewed.
Kansas market size
Counts from federal public files: NPPES (active organization NPIs), CMS Care Compare and CMS Medicaid enrollment.
- Assisted living facilities — active organization NPIs (NPPES)
- 459 (as of Sep 13, 2026)
- Total Medicaid and CHIP enrollment (latest reported month)
- 393,912 (as of Jun 1, 2026)
What Kansas Medicaid pays
Home care & personal care: published Kansas fee-for-service rates, each linked to its source.
| Service | Code | Kansas rate | Per hour | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal care / attendant care (hourly)Agency provider | T1004 | $4.98per 15 min | $19.92 | 24 of 27 |
| Companion careAide or attendant | S5135 | $4.56per 15 min | $18.24 | 13 of 20 |
| Respite care (hourly)Agency provider | S5150 | $6.78per 15 min | $27.12 | 16 of 38 |
| Respite care (daily)Agency provider | H0045 | $122.68per day | — | 29 of 34 |
| Adult day servicesClinical nurse specialist | S5101 | $28.86per half day | — | — |
Kansas HCBS waivers
Medicaid home and community-based services programs that may pay for this service.
- Autism Waiver (1915(c))
- HCBS Brain Injury Waiver (1915(c))
- Community Support Waiver (1915(c))
- Home and Community Based Services for the Frail Elderly Waiver (1915(c))
- HCBS Intellectual Disabilities and Developmental Disabilities (I/DD) Waiver (1915(c))
- Physical Disability Waiver (1915(c))
- Serious Emotional Disturbance (SED) Waiver (1915(c))
- Technology Assisted Waiver (1915(c))
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to start an assisted living facility in Kansas?
Kansas requires a Adult care home license as an assisted living facility or residential health care facility. Boarding care homes and home plus are smaller adult care home licenses. from Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS), Survey, Certification and Credentialing Commission to operate an assisted living facility. Fee: Many adult care home licensure forms, including those for assisted living and residential health care facilities, must include a fee payable to KDADS. Amounts are on the individual forms and are not stated on the page. Credit card payments carry a 3.04% surcharge.
How much does an assisted living facility license cost in Kansas?
Many adult care home licensure forms, including those for assisted living and residential health care facilities, must include a fee payable to KDADS. Amounts are on the individual forms and are not stated on the page. Credit card payments carry a 3.04% surcharge.
Does Kansas require a certificate of need for an assisted living facility?
No. Kansas has no certificate of need program.
How do you become a Medicaid provider in Kansas?
Enroll through KMAP provider portal (provider enrollment) (https://portal.kmap-state-ks.us/), run by Gainwell Technologies (KMAP fiscal agent).
What does Kansas Medicaid pay a assisted living facility?
Kansas Medicaid pays $4.98 per 15 min for personal care / attendant care (hourly), effective Jul 1, 2024, ranking 24 of 27 states.