Skip to content
Home care programs · Arizona

Arizona home care programs

Arizona pays for care at home through 5 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC). Family members can be paid caregivers in 3 of them.

Verified Oct 9, 2026Sources: official state and federal agencies

Programs
5
Consumer-directed
Yes
Family can be paid
Yes
Structured family caregiving
No
On this page
Programs

Every way Arizona pays for care at home

Arizona pays for care at home through 5 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC). Family members can be paid caregivers in 3 of them.

ProgramTypeCan family be paidHow it differs
Home Health Services (AHCCCS) (HHA)State Plan home health under the AHCCCS 1115Home healthNot statedSkilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.
Direct Care Services (attendant care, personal care, homemaker) under ALTCS (ALTCS-EPD)Section 1115 demonstration (Arizona Long Term Care System)Agency personal careYesAgency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.
Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC)Section 1115 demonstration (ALTCS); AMPM 1320-AConsumer-directedYesConsumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.
Division of Developmental Disabilities in-home services (ALTCS-DD) (DDD)Section 1115 demonstration (ALTCS-DD)Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.
Non-Medical Home and Community Based Services (NMHCBS)state and Older Americans Act fundsState-fundedNot statedState-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; paid fee-for-service.
Guide

Home health vs home care vs consumer-directed care in Arizona

What each kind of program is, who employs the caregiver and when a family member can be paid.

Home health: the medical benefit

In Arizona, skilled home health is Home Health Services (AHCCCS) (HHA). It is a medical benefit: a doctor or other practitioner orders nursing, therapy or home health aide visits under a written plan of care, and the visits stop when the skilled need ends.

Only a licensed home health agency enrolled with Arizona Medicaid can bill it, and the agency's own nurses, therapists and aides make the visits.

Home care: non-medical personal care through an agency

Help with bathing, dressing, eating, toileting and household tasks is "home care" or personal care. In Arizona the agency route is Direct Care Services (attendant care, personal care, homemaker) under ALTCS (ALTCS-EPD). No skilled need is required; the person qualifies on functional need, usually measured by an assessment of daily activities.

The agency recruits, trains, schedules and pays the aides, and it is the employer. Direct Care Services (attendant care, personal care, homemaker) under ALTCS (ALTCS-EPD) lets the agency hire a family member as the aide, with the agency still the employer.

Consumer-directed care: the person hires their own aide

Arizona's consumer-directed option is Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC). The person receiving care, or a representative, recruits, hires, trains, schedules and supervises the aide, and can let go of one. A fiscal intermediary runs payroll, taxes and background checks, so the person never handles wages directly.

This is the route most families use to be paid: Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC) allows a relative to be hired as the paid aide. Which relatives qualify (adult children, parents of adults, spouses, legal guardians) and how a live-in caregiver is treated are set program by program.

Structured family caregiving: a paid live-in family caregiver

Arizona has no structured family caregiving program. A family caregiver is paid instead through consumer-directed care (Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC)), by the hour, as the participant's chosen aide.

Other ways Arizona pays for care at home

Waiver in-home services: Division of Developmental Disabilities in-home services (ALTCS-DD) (DDD). These pay for in-home supports for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care, often with more services than state plan personal care and, in some programs, a waiting list or enrollment cap.

State-funded: Non-Medical Home and Community Based Services (NMHCBS). Paid from state funds outside Medicaid, for people who do not qualify for Medicaid or are waiting for it.

Which one fits

  • Needs nursing, wound care, injections or therapy at home: home health (Home Health Services (AHCCCS) (HHA)).
  • Needs daily help and wants an agency to supply and manage the aide: Direct Care Services (attendant care, personal care, homemaker) under ALTCS (ALTCS-EPD).
  • Wants to choose the aide, including a relative where allowed: Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC).
  • Meets nursing-home level of care and needs more than personal care: Division of Developmental Disabilities in-home services (ALTCS-DD) (DDD).
In the workspace

Arizona program rules, side by side

Eligibility, the family caregiver rules (spouses, parents, live-in caregivers), employer of record, fiscal intermediary, caregiver training, provider requirements, how to enroll, published pay, EVV and waiting lists: 48 details across 5 programs.

ProgramFamily rulesEmployerEligibilityPay
See Arizona's program rules — start free

Who can be paid, who employs the caregiver, what each program requires of agencies and caregivers, how to become a provider and what it pays, for all 5 programs.

  • Family caregiver rules
  • Provider requirements
  • CSV export
Program by program

Arizona's programs

What each program is and how it differs from the others. Locked details open in the workspace.

Home Health Services (AHCCCS) (HHA)

Home health

State Plan home health under the AHCCCS 1115 · AHCCCS

Skilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Have AHCCCS coverage
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsEVVRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Direct Care Services (attendant care, personal care, homemaker) under ALTCS (ALTCS-EPD)

Agency personal care

Section 1115 demonstration (Arizona Long Term Care System) · Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS); ALTCS-EPD managed care contractors

Agency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 12 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 11 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 10 steps
  1. Apply for ALTCS
  2. 9 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC)

Consumer-directed

Section 1115 demonstration (ALTCS); AMPM 1320-A · AHCCCS and ALTCS contractors

Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 5 steps
  1. No agency — FEA track
  2. 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 12 steps
  1. Apply for ALTCS
  2. 11 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsHow to become a providerEVVHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Division of Developmental Disabilities in-home services (ALTCS-DD) (DDD)

Waiver in-home

Section 1115 demonstration (ALTCS-DD) · Arizona Department of Economic Security, Division of Developmental Disabilities, under AHCCCS

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 8 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 9 steps
  1. Apply for DDD eligibility
  2. 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsEVVRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Non-Medical Home and Community Based Services (NMHCBS)

State-funded

state and Older Americans Act funds · DES Division of Aging and Adult Services through Area Agencies on Aging

State-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 2 steps
  1. Not Medicaid — contract with the AAA
  2. 1 more step: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 5 steps
  1. Call the Area Agency on Aging
  2. 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Can family members get paid to be caregivers in Arizona?

Yes. Direct Care Services (attendant care, personal care, homemaker) under ALTCS (ALTCS-EPD), Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC), and Division of Developmental Disabilities in-home services (ALTCS-DD) (DDD) let a family member be the paid caregiver. Which relatives qualify, including spouses and parents of minor children, is set program by program.

Does Arizona have consumer-directed care?

Yes: Self-Directed Attendant Care (SDAC). The person receiving care hires and directs their own aide, and a fiscal intermediary handles payroll.

Does Arizona have structured family caregiving?

No. Arizona does not run a structured family caregiving program. Family caregivers are paid through consumer-directed care instead.

What is the difference between home health and home care in Arizona?

Home health (Home Health Services (AHCCCS) (HHA)) is medical: nursing, therapy and aide visits ordered by a practitioner and delivered by a licensed home health agency. Home care (Direct Care Services (attendant care, personal care, homemaker) under ALTCS (ALTCS-EPD)) is non-medical help with daily activities, based on functional need.