Skip to content
Home care programs · Minnesota

Minnesota home care programs

Minnesota pays for care at home through 7 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Community First Services and Supports — budget model and Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS). Family members can be paid caregivers in 5 of them.

Verified Oct 9, 2026Sources: official state and federal agencies

Programs
7
Consumer-directed
Yes
Family can be paid
Yes
Structured family caregiving
No
On this page
Programs

Every way Minnesota pays for care at home

Minnesota pays for care at home through 7 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Community First Services and Supports — budget model and Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS). Family members can be paid caregivers in 5 of them.

ProgramTypeCan family be paidHow it differs
MHCP Home Health Agency ServicesState Plan home healthHome healthNot statedSkilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
Community First Services and Supports — agency-provider model (CFSS)1915(k) Community First Choice (SPA 24-21) with companion 1915(i)Agency personal careYesAgency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
Community First Services and Supports — budget model1915(k) Community First Choice (SPA 24-21)Consumer-directedYesConsumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS)Service option within 1915(c) waivers MN.0025 (EW), MN.0166 (CADI), MN.4169 (BI), MN.4128 (CAC), MN.0061 (DD) and the Alternative Care programConsumer-directedYesConsumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
CADI, BI, CAC and DD waivers — in-home services (IHS)1915(c) waivers MN.0166 (CADI), MN.4169 (BI), MN.4128 (CAC), MN.0061 (DD)Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
Elderly Waiver (EW)1915(c) waiver MN.0025 (concurrent 1915(b))Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, delivered through managed-care plans.
Alternative Care Program (AC)State program with federal support under the Reform: Pathways to Independence 1115 demonstration (extended 2025-02-01 to 2030-01-31)State-fundedNot statedState-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; run as an 1115 demonstration, paid fee-for-service.
Guide

Home health vs home care vs consumer-directed care in Minnesota

What each kind of program is, who employs the caregiver and when a family member can be paid.

Home health: the medical benefit

In Minnesota, skilled home health is MHCP Home Health Agency Services. It is a medical benefit: a doctor or other practitioner orders nursing, therapy or home health aide visits under a written plan of care, and the visits stop when the skilled need ends.

Only a licensed home health agency enrolled with Minnesota Medicaid can bill it, and the agency's own nurses, therapists and aides make the visits.

Home care: non-medical personal care through an agency

Help with bathing, dressing, eating, toileting and household tasks is "home care" or personal care. In Minnesota the agency route is Community First Services and Supports — agency-provider model (CFSS). No skilled need is required; the person qualifies on functional need, usually measured by an assessment of daily activities.

The agency recruits, trains, schedules and pays the aides, and it is the employer. Community First Services and Supports — agency-provider model (CFSS) lets the agency hire a family member as the aide, with the agency still the employer.

Consumer-directed care: the person hires their own aide

Minnesota's consumer-directed option is Community First Services and Supports — budget model and Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS). The person receiving care, or a representative, recruits, hires, trains, schedules and supervises the aide, and can let go of one. A fiscal intermediary runs payroll, taxes and background checks, so the person never handles wages directly.

This is the route most families use to be paid: Community First Services and Supports — budget model and Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS) allow a relative to be hired as the paid aide. Which relatives qualify (adult children, parents of adults, spouses, legal guardians) and how a live-in caregiver is treated are set program by program.

Structured family caregiving: a paid live-in family caregiver

Minnesota has no structured family caregiving program. A family caregiver is paid instead through consumer-directed care (Community First Services and Supports — budget model and Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS)), by the hour, as the participant's chosen aide.

Other ways Minnesota pays for care at home

Waiver in-home services: CADI, BI, CAC and DD waivers — in-home services (IHS) and Elderly Waiver (EW). These pay for in-home supports for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care, often with more services than state plan personal care and, in some programs, a waiting list or enrollment cap.

State-funded: Alternative Care Program (AC). Paid from state funds outside Medicaid, for people who do not qualify for Medicaid or are waiting for it.

Which one fits

  • Needs nursing, wound care, injections or therapy at home: home health (MHCP Home Health Agency Services).
  • Needs daily help and wants an agency to supply and manage the aide: Community First Services and Supports — agency-provider model (CFSS).
  • Wants to choose the aide, including a relative where allowed: Community First Services and Supports — budget model and Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS).
  • Meets nursing-home level of care and needs more than personal care: CADI, BI, CAC and DD waivers — in-home services (IHS) and Elderly Waiver (EW).
In the workspace

Minnesota program rules, side by side

Eligibility, the family caregiver rules (spouses, parents, live-in caregivers), employer of record, fiscal intermediary, caregiver training, provider requirements, how to enroll, published pay, EVV and waiting lists: 80 details across 7 programs.

ProgramFamily rulesEmployerEligibilityPay
See Minnesota's program rules — start free

Who can be paid, who employs the caregiver, what each program requires of agencies and caregivers, how to become a provider and what it pays, for all 7 programs.

  • Family caregiver rules
  • Provider requirements
  • CSV export
Program by program

Minnesota's programs

What each program is and how it differs from the others. Locked details open in the workspace.

MHCP Home Health Agency Services

Home health

State Plan home health · Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS)

Skilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, available through fee-for-service and managed care.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 9 steps
  1. Form the business and get identifiers
  2. 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Get Medical Assistance
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsEVVManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Community First Services and Supports — agency-provider model (CFSS)

Agency personal care

1915(k) Community First Choice (SPA 24-21) with companion 1915(i) · Minnesota DHS; assessments by county/Tribal lead agencies and health plans (MnCHOICES)

Agency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, available through fee-for-service and managed care.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 12 steps
  1. Form the business and get identifiers
  2. 11 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 9 steps
  1. Be on Medical Assistance (or AC)
  2. 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Community First Services and Supports — budget model

Consumer-directed

1915(k) Community First Choice (SPA 24-21) · Minnesota DHS with lead agencies

Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, available through fee-for-service and managed care.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Note: participant is the employer
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 10 steps
  1. Be on Medical Assistance (or AC)
  2. 9 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS)

Consumer-directed

Service option within 1915(c) waivers MN.0025 (EW), MN.0166 (CADI), MN.4169 (BI), MN.4128 (CAC), MN.0061 (DD) and the Alternative Care program · Minnesota DHS; county/Tribal lead agencies and health plans

Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, available through fee-for-service and managed care.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps
  1. Note: participant is the employer
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 8 steps
  1. Qualify for a waiver or AC
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsPay rateEVVWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

CADI, BI, CAC and DD waivers — in-home services (IHS)

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waivers MN.0166 (CADI), MN.4169 (BI), MN.4128 (CAC), MN.0061 (DD) · Minnesota DHS via county/Tribal lead agencies

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, available through fee-for-service and managed care.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 9 steps
  1. Form the business and get identifiers
  2. 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Apply for Medical Assistance
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsEVVHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Elderly Waiver (EW)

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waiver MN.0025 (concurrent 1915(b)) · Minnesota DHS; delivered through Minnesota Senior Care Plus (MSC+) and Minnesota Senior Health Options (MSHO) health plans

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 9 steps
  1. Form the business and get identifiers
  2. 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Apply for Medical Assistance
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsEVVHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Alternative Care Program (AC)

State-funded

State program with federal support under the Reform: Pathways to Independence 1115 demonstration (extended 2025-02-01 to 2030-01-31) · Minnesota DHS via county/Tribal lead agencies

State-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; run as an 1115 demonstration, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Form the business and get identifiers
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Contact the county or Tribal Nation
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetEmployer of recordPay rateEVVWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Can family members get paid to be caregivers in Minnesota?

Yes. Community First Services and Supports — agency-provider model (CFSS), Community First Services and Supports — budget model, Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS), CADI, BI, CAC and DD waivers — in-home services (IHS), and Elderly Waiver (EW) let a family member be the paid caregiver. Which relatives qualify, including spouses and parents of minor children, is set program by program.

Does Minnesota have consumer-directed care?

Yes: Community First Services and Supports — budget model and Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS). The person receiving care hires and directs their own aide, and a fiscal intermediary handles payroll.

Does Minnesota have structured family caregiving?

No. Minnesota does not run a structured family caregiving program. Family caregivers are paid through consumer-directed care instead.

What is the difference between home health and home care in Minnesota?

Home health (MHCP Home Health Agency Services) is medical: nursing, therapy and aide visits ordered by a practitioner and delivered by a licensed home health agency. Home care (Community First Services and Supports — agency-provider model (CFSS)) is non-medical help with daily activities, based on functional need.