Skip to content
Home care programs · Alaska

Alaska home care programs

Alaska pays for care at home through 6 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC). Family members can be paid caregivers in 3 of them.

Verified Oct 9, 2026Sources: official state and federal agencies

Programs
6
Consumer-directed
Yes
Family can be paid
Yes
Structured family caregiving
No
On this page
Programs

Every way Alaska pays for care at home

Alaska pays for care at home through 6 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC). Family members can be paid caregivers in 3 of them.

ProgramTypeCan family be paidHow it differs
Home Health Services (Alaska Medicaid) (HHA)State Plan home health (1905(a)(7))Home healthNot statedSkilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.
Personal Care Services (State Plan) (PCS)State Plan personal care (1905(a)(24)); 7 AAC 125Agency personal careYesAgency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.
Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC)1915(k) Community First Choice; 7 AAC 127Consumer-directedYesConsumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, paid fee-for-service.
Alaskans Living Independently (ALI)1915(c) waiver AK.0261Waiver in-homeNot statedWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
In-Home Supports and Supported Living under Alaska's IDD/children's waivers (PIDD)1915(c) waivers AK.1566, AK.0260, AK.0262, AK.0263Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
Senior In-Home Services (SIH)SDS community grants (state and federal grant funds)State-fundedNot statedState-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; paid fee-for-service.
Guide

Home health vs home care vs consumer-directed care in Alaska

What each kind of program is, who employs the caregiver and when a family member can be paid.

Home health: the medical benefit

In Alaska, skilled home health is Home Health Services (Alaska Medicaid) (HHA). It is a medical benefit: a doctor or other practitioner orders nursing, therapy or home health aide visits under a written plan of care, and the visits stop when the skilled need ends.

Only a licensed home health agency enrolled with Alaska Medicaid can bill it, and the agency's own nurses, therapists and aides make the visits.

Home care: non-medical personal care through an agency

Help with bathing, dressing, eating, toileting and household tasks is "home care" or personal care. In Alaska the agency route is Personal Care Services (State Plan) (PCS). No skilled need is required; the person qualifies on functional need, usually measured by an assessment of daily activities.

The agency recruits, trains, schedules and pays the aides, and it is the employer. Personal Care Services (State Plan) (PCS) lets the agency hire a family member as the aide, with the agency still the employer.

Consumer-directed care: the person hires their own aide

Alaska's consumer-directed option is Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC). The person receiving care, or a representative, recruits, hires, trains, schedules and supervises the aide, and can let go of one. A fiscal intermediary runs payroll, taxes and background checks, so the person never handles wages directly.

This is the route most families use to be paid: Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC) allows a relative to be hired as the paid aide. Which relatives qualify (adult children, parents of adults, spouses, legal guardians) and how a live-in caregiver is treated are set program by program.

Structured family caregiving: a paid live-in family caregiver

Alaska has no structured family caregiving program. A family caregiver is paid instead through consumer-directed care (Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC)), by the hour, as the participant's chosen aide.

Other ways Alaska pays for care at home

Waiver in-home services: Alaskans Living Independently (ALI) and In-Home Supports and Supported Living under Alaska's IDD/children's waivers (PIDD). These pay for in-home supports for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care, often with more services than state plan personal care and, in some programs, a waiting list or enrollment cap.

State-funded: Senior In-Home Services (SIH). Paid from state funds outside Medicaid, for people who do not qualify for Medicaid or are waiting for it.

Which one fits

  • Needs nursing, wound care, injections or therapy at home: home health (Home Health Services (Alaska Medicaid) (HHA)).
  • Needs daily help and wants an agency to supply and manage the aide: Personal Care Services (State Plan) (PCS).
  • Wants to choose the aide, including a relative where allowed: Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC).
  • Meets nursing-home level of care and needs more than personal care: Alaskans Living Independently (ALI) and In-Home Supports and Supported Living under Alaska's IDD/children's waivers (PIDD).
In the workspace

Alaska program rules, side by side

Eligibility, the family caregiver rules (spouses, parents, live-in caregivers), employer of record, fiscal intermediary, caregiver training, provider requirements, how to enroll, published pay, EVV and waiting lists: 54 details across 6 programs.

ProgramFamily rulesEmployerEligibilityPay
See Alaska's program rules — start free

Who can be paid, who employs the caregiver, what each program requires of agencies and caregivers, how to become a provider and what it pays, for all 6 programs.

  • Family caregiver rules
  • Provider requirements
  • CSV export
Program by program

Alaska's programs

What each program is and how it differs from the others. Locked details open in the workspace.

Home Health Services (Alaska Medicaid) (HHA)

Home health

State Plan home health (1905(a)(7)) · Alaska DOH, Division of Health Care Services

Skilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 8 steps
  1. Form the business and get an Alaska business license
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Get Alaska Medicaid
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsEVVRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Personal Care Services (State Plan) (PCS)

Agency personal care

State Plan personal care (1905(a)(24)); 7 AAC 125 · Alaska Department of Health, Division of Senior and Disabilities Services (SDS)

Agency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 11 steps
  1. Form the business and get an Alaska business license
  2. 10 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 10 steps
  1. Get Alaska Medicaid
  2. 9 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC)

Consumer-directed

1915(k) Community First Choice; 7 AAC 127 · Alaska DOH, SDS

Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 11 steps
  1. Form the business and get an Alaska business license
  2. 10 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 10 steps
  1. Person-centered intake
  2. 9 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Alaskans Living Independently (ALI)

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waiver AK.0261 · Alaska DOH, SDS

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 8 steps
  1. Form the business and get an Alaska business license
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 8 steps
  1. Person-centered intake at an ADRC
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

In-Home Supports and Supported Living under Alaska's IDD/children's waivers (PIDD)

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waivers AK.1566, AK.0260, AK.0262, AK.0263 · Alaska DOH, SDS

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 8 steps
  1. Form the business and get an Alaska business license
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 8 steps
  1. Register for DD services
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Senior In-Home Services (SIH)

State-funded

SDS community grants (state and federal grant funds) · Alaska DOH, SDS Grants Unit; regional grantee agencies

State-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 3 steps
  1. Form the business and get an Alaska business license
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 3 steps
  1. Contact a regional provider
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Can family members get paid to be caregivers in Alaska?

Yes. Personal Care Services (State Plan) (PCS), Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC), and In-Home Supports and Supported Living under Alaska's IDD/children's waivers (PIDD) let a family member be the paid caregiver. Which relatives qualify, including spouses and parents of minor children, is set program by program.

Does Alaska have consumer-directed care?

Yes: Community First Choice — Personal Care Services (CFC). The person receiving care hires and directs their own aide, and a fiscal intermediary handles payroll.

Does Alaska have structured family caregiving?

No. Alaska does not run a structured family caregiving program. Family caregivers are paid through consumer-directed care instead.

What is the difference between home health and home care in Alaska?

Home health (Home Health Services (Alaska Medicaid) (HHA)) is medical: nursing, therapy and aide visits ordered by a practitioner and delivered by a licensed home health agency. Home care (Personal Care Services (State Plan) (PCS)) is non-medical help with daily activities, based on functional need.