Skip to content
Home care programs · Arkansas

Arkansas home care programs

Arkansas pays for care at home through 6 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through IndependentChoices. Family members can be paid caregivers in 1 of them.

Verified Oct 9, 2026Sources: official state and federal agencies

Programs
6
Consumer-directed
Yes
Family can be paid
Yes
Structured family caregiving
No
On this page
Programs

Every way Arkansas pays for care at home

Arkansas pays for care at home through 6 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through IndependentChoices. Family members can be paid caregivers in 1 of them.

ProgramTypeCan family be paidHow it differs
Home health services (Arkansas Medicaid) (HHA)State Plan home health (42 CFR 440.70)Home healthNoSkilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.
Personal Care (State Plan) (PCA)State Plan personal careAgency personal careNot statedAgency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.
IndependentChoices1915(j) State Plan self-directed personal assistance (and ARChoices self-direction under 1915(c))Consumer-directedYesConsumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(j) self-directed state plan option, paid fee-for-service.
ARChoices in Homecare1915(c) waiver AR.0195Waiver in-homeNot statedWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
Community and Employment Supports Waiver1915(c) waivers AR.0188 and AR.0936Waiver in-homeNot statedWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, delivered through managed-care plans.
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)State Plan PACE (42 CFR Part 460)PACENoPACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.
Guide

Home health vs home care vs consumer-directed care in Arkansas

What each kind of program is, who employs the caregiver and when a family member can be paid.

Home health: the medical benefit

In Arkansas, skilled home health is Home health services (Arkansas Medicaid) (HHA). It is a medical benefit: a doctor or other practitioner orders nursing, therapy or home health aide visits under a written plan of care, and the visits stop when the skilled need ends.

Only a licensed home health agency enrolled with Arkansas Medicaid can bill it, and the agency's own nurses, therapists and aides make the visits. Family members are not paid under this benefit.

Home care: non-medical personal care through an agency

Help with bathing, dressing, eating, toileting and household tasks is "home care" or personal care. In Arkansas the agency route is Personal Care (State Plan) (PCA). No skilled need is required; the person qualifies on functional need, usually measured by an assessment of daily activities.

The agency recruits, trains, schedules and pays the aides, and it is the employer. The aide is agency staff rather than a relative.

Consumer-directed care: the person hires their own aide

Arkansas's consumer-directed option is IndependentChoices. The person receiving care, or a representative, recruits, hires, trains, schedules and supervises the aide, and can let go of one. A fiscal intermediary runs payroll, taxes and background checks, so the person never handles wages directly.

This is the route most families use to be paid: IndependentChoices allows a relative to be hired as the paid aide. Which relatives qualify (adult children, parents of adults, spouses, legal guardians) and how a live-in caregiver is treated are set program by program.

Structured family caregiving: a paid live-in family caregiver

Arkansas has no structured family caregiving program. A family caregiver is paid instead through consumer-directed care (IndependentChoices), by the hour, as the participant's chosen aide.

Other ways Arkansas pays for care at home

Waiver in-home services: ARChoices in Homecare and Community and Employment Supports Waiver. These pay for in-home supports for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care, often with more services than state plan personal care and, in some programs, a waiting list or enrollment cap.

PACE: Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE). One PACE organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over who need nursing-home level care.

Which one fits

  • Needs nursing, wound care, injections or therapy at home: home health (Home health services (Arkansas Medicaid) (HHA)).
  • Needs daily help and wants an agency to supply and manage the aide: Personal Care (State Plan) (PCA).
  • Wants to choose the aide, including a relative where allowed: IndependentChoices.
  • Meets nursing-home level of care and needs more than personal care: ARChoices in Homecare and Community and Employment Supports Waiver.
In the workspace

Arkansas program rules, side by side

Eligibility, the family caregiver rules (spouses, parents, live-in caregivers), employer of record, fiscal intermediary, caregiver training, provider requirements, how to enroll, published pay, EVV and waiting lists: 63 details across 6 programs.

ProgramFamily rulesEmployerEligibilityPay
See Arkansas's program rules — start free

Who can be paid, who employs the caregiver, what each program requires of agencies and caregivers, how to become a provider and what it pays, for all 6 programs.

  • Family caregiver rules
  • Provider requirements
  • CSV export
Program by program

Arkansas's programs

What each program is and how it differs from the others. Locked details open in the workspace.

Home health services (Arkansas Medicaid) (HHA)

Home health

State Plan home health (42 CFR 440.70) · Arkansas DHS Division of Medical Services

Skilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?No
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 4 steps
  1. Medicaid coverage
  2. 3 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Personal Care (State Plan) (PCA)

Agency personal care

State Plan personal care · Arkansas DHS (Division of Medical Services; DAABHS)

Agency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Medicaid eligibility
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

IndependentChoices

Consumer-directed

1915(j) State Plan self-directed personal assistance (and ARChoices self-direction under 1915(c)) · Arkansas DHS Division of Provider Services and Quality Assurance (DPSQA) under DAABHS

Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(j) self-directed state plan option, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 3 steps
  1. State-contracted FMS
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Medicaid and need
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

ARChoices in Homecare

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waiver AR.0195 · Arkansas DHS Division of Aging, Adult and Behavioral Health Services (DAABHS) under DMS

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Apply for Medicaid / ARChoices
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Community and Employment Supports Waiver

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waivers AR.0188 and AR.0936 · Arkansas DHS Division of Developmental Disabilities Services

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 5 steps
  1. Referral
  2. 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsWaiting list or capManaged-care plansHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)

PACE

State Plan PACE (42 CFR Part 460) · Arkansas DHS DAABHS

PACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?No
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps
  1. Form the PACE organization
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 7 steps
  1. Check the service area
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Can family members get paid to be caregivers in Arkansas?

Yes. IndependentChoices lets a family member be the paid caregiver. Which relatives qualify, including spouses and parents of minor children, is set program by program.

Does Arkansas have consumer-directed care?

Yes: IndependentChoices. The person receiving care hires and directs their own aide, and a fiscal intermediary handles payroll.

Does Arkansas have structured family caregiving?

No. Arkansas does not run a structured family caregiving program. Family caregivers are paid through consumer-directed care instead.

What is the difference between home health and home care in Arkansas?

Home health (Home health services (Arkansas Medicaid) (HHA)) is medical: nursing, therapy and aide visits ordered by a practitioner and delivered by a licensed home health agency. Home care (Personal Care (State Plan) (PCA)) is non-medical help with daily activities, based on functional need.