Skip to content
Home care programs · Oklahoma

Oklahoma home care programs

Oklahoma pays for care at home through 7 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS). Family members can be paid caregivers in 4 of them.

Verified Oct 9, 2026Sources: official state and federal agencies

Programs
7
Consumer-directed
Yes
Family can be paid
Yes
Structured family caregiving
No
On this page
Programs

Every way Oklahoma pays for care at home

Oklahoma pays for care at home through 7 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS). Family members can be paid caregivers in 4 of them.

ProgramTypeCan family be paidHow it differs
Home health services (SoonerCare) (HHA)State Plan home health (42 CFR 440.70)Home healthNoSkilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
State Plan Personal Care (SPPC)State Plan personal careAgency personal careYesAgency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.
Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS)Self-direction option within 1915(c) ADvantage (OK.0256) and Medically Fragile waiversConsumer-directedYesConsumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
ADvantage Program1915(c) waiver OK.0256Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
Developmental Disabilities Services waivers (DDS)1915(c) waivers OK.0179, OK.0343, OK.0351, OK.0399Waiver in-homeNot statedWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
Medically Fragile Waiver1915(c) waiver OK.0811Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
Programs of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)State Plan PACE (42 CFR Part 460)PACENoPACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.
Guide

Home health vs home care vs consumer-directed care in Oklahoma

What each kind of program is, who employs the caregiver and when a family member can be paid.

Home health: the medical benefit

In Oklahoma, skilled home health is Home health services (SoonerCare) (HHA). It is a medical benefit: a doctor or other practitioner orders nursing, therapy or home health aide visits under a written plan of care, and the visits stop when the skilled need ends.

Only a licensed home health agency enrolled with Oklahoma Medicaid can bill it, and the agency's own nurses, therapists and aides make the visits. Family members are not paid under this benefit.

Home care: non-medical personal care through an agency

Help with bathing, dressing, eating, toileting and household tasks is "home care" or personal care. In Oklahoma the agency route is State Plan Personal Care (SPPC). No skilled need is required; the person qualifies on functional need, usually measured by an assessment of daily activities.

The agency recruits, trains, schedules and pays the aides, and it is the employer. State Plan Personal Care (SPPC) lets the agency hire a family member as the aide, with the agency still the employer.

Consumer-directed care: the person hires their own aide

Oklahoma's consumer-directed option is Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS). The person receiving care, or a representative, recruits, hires, trains, schedules and supervises the aide, and can let go of one. A fiscal intermediary runs payroll, taxes and background checks, so the person never handles wages directly.

This is the route most families use to be paid: Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS) allows a relative to be hired as the paid aide. Which relatives qualify (adult children, parents of adults, spouses, legal guardians) and how a live-in caregiver is treated are set program by program.

Structured family caregiving: a paid live-in family caregiver

Oklahoma has no structured family caregiving program. A family caregiver is paid instead through consumer-directed care (Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS)), by the hour, as the participant's chosen aide.

Other ways Oklahoma pays for care at home

Waiver in-home services: ADvantage Program, Developmental Disabilities Services waivers (DDS), and Medically Fragile Waiver. These pay for in-home supports for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care, often with more services than state plan personal care and, in some programs, a waiting list or enrollment cap.

PACE: Programs of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE). One PACE organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over who need nursing-home level care.

Which one fits

  • Needs nursing, wound care, injections or therapy at home: home health (Home health services (SoonerCare) (HHA)).
  • Needs daily help and wants an agency to supply and manage the aide: State Plan Personal Care (SPPC).
  • Wants to choose the aide, including a relative where allowed: Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS).
  • Meets nursing-home level of care and needs more than personal care: ADvantage Program, Developmental Disabilities Services waivers (DDS), and Medically Fragile Waiver.
In the workspace

Oklahoma program rules, side by side

Eligibility, the family caregiver rules (spouses, parents, live-in caregivers), employer of record, fiscal intermediary, caregiver training, provider requirements, how to enroll, published pay, EVV and waiting lists: 74 details across 7 programs.

ProgramFamily rulesEmployerEligibilityPay
See Oklahoma's program rules — start free

Who can be paid, who employs the caregiver, what each program requires of agencies and caregivers, how to become a provider and what it pays, for all 7 programs.

  • Family caregiver rules
  • Provider requirements
  • CSV export
Program by program

Oklahoma's programs

What each program is and how it differs from the others. Locked details open in the workspace.

Home health services (SoonerCare) (HHA)

Home health

State Plan home health (42 CFR 440.70) · Oklahoma Health Care Authority (OHCA)

Skilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, available through fee-for-service and managed care.

Can family be paid?No
How to get set up
Provider track · 9 steps
  1. Business location and insurance
  2. 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 4 steps
  1. SoonerCare coverage
  2. 3 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

State Plan Personal Care (SPPC)

Agency personal care

State Plan personal care · OHCA with OKDHS (assessment by OKDHS nurse)

Agency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 9 steps
  1. Business location and insurance
  2. 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. SoonerCare eligibility
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS)

Consumer-directed

Self-direction option within 1915(c) ADvantage (OK.0256) and Medically Fragile waivers · OKDHS CAP

Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 3 steps
  1. ADvantage certification for CD-PASS roles
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 9 steps
  1. Pick preferred providers
  2. 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

ADvantage Program

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waiver OK.0256 · OKDHS Community Living, Aging and Protective Services (CAP) under OHCA

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 10 steps
  1. Business location and insurance
  2. 9 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 8 steps
  1. Pick preferred providers
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Developmental Disabilities Services waivers (DDS)

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waivers OK.0179, OK.0343, OK.0351, OK.0399 · OKDHS Developmental Disabilities Services

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 5 steps
  1. DDS provider review
  2. 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 5 steps
  1. Apply
  2. 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Medically Fragile Waiver

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waiver OK.0811 · OHCA

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Business location and insurance
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Referral
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Programs of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)

PACE

State Plan PACE (42 CFR Part 460) · OHCA

PACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?No
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps
  1. Form the PACE organization
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 7 steps
  1. Check the service area
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Can family members get paid to be caregivers in Oklahoma?

Yes. State Plan Personal Care (SPPC), Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS), ADvantage Program, and Medically Fragile Waiver let a family member be the paid caregiver. Which relatives qualify, including spouses and parents of minor children, is set program by program.

Does Oklahoma have consumer-directed care?

Yes: Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance Services and Supports (CD-PASS). The person receiving care hires and directs their own aide, and a fiscal intermediary handles payroll.

Does Oklahoma have structured family caregiving?

No. Oklahoma does not run a structured family caregiving program. Family caregivers are paid through consumer-directed care instead.

What is the difference between home health and home care in Oklahoma?

Home health (Home health services (SoonerCare) (HHA)) is medical: nursing, therapy and aide visits ordered by a practitioner and delivered by a licensed home health agency. Home care (State Plan Personal Care (SPPC)) is non-medical help with daily activities, based on functional need.