Program by programOregon's programs
What each program is and how it differs from the others. Locked details open in the workspace.
Home Health Services (Oregon Health Plan) (HHA)
Home healthState Plan home health (1905(a)(7)) · Oregon Health Authority (OHA)
Skilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps- Get an OHA home health agency license
- 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 5 steps- Have OHP coverage
- 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Contracted In-Home Care Agency services
Agency personal careMedicaid in-home services (K Plan / OR.0185) · ODHS APD
Agency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 9 steps- Register the business
- 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 7 steps- Contact the local APD/AAA office or ADRC
- 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Consumer-Employed Provider Program (Medicaid in-home services) (HCW)
Consumer-directed1915(k) Community First Choice (K Plan) and 1915(c) Aged and Physically Disabled waiver OR.0185 · Oregon Department of Human Services (ODHS), Aging and People with Disabilities (APD), with local APD/AAA offices
Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 10 steps- Submit the homecare worker enrollment application
- 9 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 9 steps- Contact the local APD/AAA office or ADRC
- 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Developmental Disabilities in-home supports (independent providers / Personal Support Workers) (PSW)
Consumer-directed1915(k) K Plan and 1915(c) waivers incl. OR.0375 (Adults' HCBS) and OR.0117 (Children's HCBS) · ODHS Office of Developmental Disabilities Services (ODDS) through CDDPs and brokerages
Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 10 steps- Submit the PSW enrollment agreement
- 9 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 9 steps- Contact the county CDDP
- 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsHow to become a providerEVVRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Independent Choices Program (ICP)
Consumer-directedMedicaid in-home services (self-directed cash option) · ODHS APD
Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 2 steps- No provider enrollment track
- 1 more step: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 9 steps- Contact the local APD/AAA office or ADRC
- 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Spousal Pay Program (SPP)
Consumer-directedPart of Medicaid in-home services (K Plan / OR.0185) · ODHS APD; Central Office approves eligibility at enrollment and each annual reassessment
Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 11 steps- Confirm the program route
- 10 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 9 steps- Contact the local APD/AAA office or ADRC
- 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Oregon Project Independence-Medicaid (OPI-M)
Waiver in-homeSection 1115 demonstration (approved 2024-02-13) · ODHS APD and Area Agencies on Aging
Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as an 1115 demonstration, paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 4 steps- Enroll as a homecare worker or in-home care agency
- 3 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps- Contact the local APD/AAA office
- 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)
PACE1934 PACE · ODHS APD with CMS
PACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.
Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps- Form an eligible entity
- 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 5 steps- Check the service area and contact PACE
- 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Oregon Project Independence (OPI)
State-fundedstate-funded (ORS 410.410-410.480) · ODHS APD through Area Agencies on Aging
State-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; run as state funds outside Medicaid, paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 4 steps- Contract with the local Area Agency on Aging
- 3 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 5 steps- Contact the local APD/AAA office
- 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →