Skip to content
Home care programs · Washington

Washington home care programs

Washington pays for care at home through 9 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP) and New Freedom Consumer Directed Services. Family members can be paid caregivers in 4 of them.

Verified Oct 9, 2026Sources: official state and federal agencies

Programs
9
Consumer-directed
Yes
Family can be paid
Yes
Structured family caregiving
No
On this page
Programs

Every way Washington pays for care at home

Washington pays for care at home through 9 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP) and New Freedom Consumer Directed Services. Family members can be paid caregivers in 4 of them.

ProgramTypeCan family be paidHow it differs
Home Health Services (Apple Health) (HHA)State Plan home health (1905(a)(7))Home healthNot statedSkilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
Home care agency services1915(k) CFC; State Plan MPC; 1915(c) COPES WA.0049Agency personal careNot statedAgency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, paid fee-for-service.
Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP)1915(k) Community First Choice (for nursing facility level of care); State Plan Medicaid Personal Care (1905(a)(24)) for othersConsumer-directedYesConsumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, paid fee-for-service.
New Freedom Consumer Directed Services1915(c) waiver WA.0443Consumer-directedYesConsumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
Community Options Program Entry System (COPES)1915(c) waiver WA.0049Waiver in-homeNot statedWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
Developmental Disabilities Administration HCBS waivers (DDA)1915(c) waivers WA.0409, WA.0410, WA.1186, WA.40669Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)1934 PACEPACENot statedPACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.
WA Cares Fund (Long-Term Services and Supports Trust)state-funded payroll-premium insurance program (RCW 50B.04)State-fundedYesState-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; run as state funds outside Medicaid, paid fee-for-service.
Medicaid Alternative Care and Tailored Supports for Older Adults (MAC)Section 1115 demonstration (Medicaid Transformation Project)OtherNoAnother way the state pays for care at home; run as an 1115 demonstration, paid fee-for-service.
Guide

Home health vs home care vs consumer-directed care in Washington

What each kind of program is, who employs the caregiver and when a family member can be paid.

Home health: the medical benefit

In Washington, skilled home health is Home Health Services (Apple Health) (HHA). It is a medical benefit: a doctor or other practitioner orders nursing, therapy or home health aide visits under a written plan of care, and the visits stop when the skilled need ends.

Only a licensed home health agency enrolled with Washington Medicaid can bill it, and the agency's own nurses, therapists and aides make the visits.

Home care: non-medical personal care through an agency

Help with bathing, dressing, eating, toileting and household tasks is "home care" or personal care. In Washington the agency route is Home care agency services. No skilled need is required; the person qualifies on functional need, usually measured by an assessment of daily activities.

The agency recruits, trains, schedules and pays the aides, and it is the employer. The aide is agency staff rather than a relative.

Consumer-directed care: the person hires their own aide

Washington's consumer-directed option is Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP) and New Freedom Consumer Directed Services. The person receiving care, or a representative, recruits, hires, trains, schedules and supervises the aide, and can let go of one. A fiscal intermediary runs payroll, taxes and background checks, so the person never handles wages directly.

This is the route most families use to be paid: Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP) and New Freedom Consumer Directed Services allow a relative to be hired as the paid aide. Which relatives qualify (adult children, parents of adults, spouses, legal guardians) and how a live-in caregiver is treated are set program by program.

Structured family caregiving: a paid live-in family caregiver

Washington has no structured family caregiving program. A family caregiver is paid instead through consumer-directed care (Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP) and New Freedom Consumer Directed Services), by the hour, as the participant's chosen aide.

Other ways Washington pays for care at home

Waiver in-home services: Community Options Program Entry System (COPES) and Developmental Disabilities Administration HCBS waivers (DDA). These pay for in-home supports for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care, often with more services than state plan personal care and, in some programs, a waiting list or enrollment cap.

PACE: Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE). One PACE organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over who need nursing-home level care.

State-funded: WA Cares Fund (Long-Term Services and Supports Trust). Paid from state funds outside Medicaid, for people who do not qualify for Medicaid or are waiting for it.

Also: Medicaid Alternative Care and Tailored Supports for Older Adults (MAC).

Which one fits

  • Needs nursing, wound care, injections or therapy at home: home health (Home Health Services (Apple Health) (HHA)).
  • Needs daily help and wants an agency to supply and manage the aide: Home care agency services.
  • Wants to choose the aide, including a relative where allowed: Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP) and New Freedom Consumer Directed Services.
  • Meets nursing-home level of care and needs more than personal care: Community Options Program Entry System (COPES) and Developmental Disabilities Administration HCBS waivers (DDA).
In the workspace

Washington program rules, side by side

Eligibility, the family caregiver rules (spouses, parents, live-in caregivers), employer of record, fiscal intermediary, caregiver training, provider requirements, how to enroll, published pay, EVV and waiting lists: 77 details across 9 programs.

ProgramFamily rulesEmployerEligibilityPay
See Washington's program rules — start free

Who can be paid, who employs the caregiver, what each program requires of agencies and caregivers, how to become a provider and what it pays, for all 9 programs.

  • Family caregiver rules
  • Provider requirements
  • CSV export
Program by program

Washington's programs

What each program is and how it differs from the others. Locked details open in the workspace.

Home Health Services (Apple Health) (HHA)

Home health

State Plan home health (1905(a)(7)) · Health Care Authority (HCA)

Skilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, available through fee-for-service and managed care.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Certificate of Need (if Medicare/Medicaid certified)
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 4 steps
  1. Get Apple Health coverage
  2. 3 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsEVVRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Home care agency services

Agency personal care

1915(k) CFC; State Plan MPC; 1915(c) COPES WA.0049 · DSHS ALTSA; Area Agencies on Aging contract with agencies

Agency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Form the business and get a state business license
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 7 steps
  1. Apply for Apple Health long-term services and supports
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP)

Consumer-directed

1915(k) Community First Choice (for nursing facility level of care); State Plan Medicaid Personal Care (1905(a)(24)) for others · DSHS Aging and Long-Term Support Administration (ALTSA) Home and Community Services and Area Agencies on Aging; DDA for clients with developmental disabilities

Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a Community First Choice (1915(k)) state plan option, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 8 steps
  1. Single statewide employer (no agency enrollment)
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 14 steps
  1. Apply for Apple Health long-term services and supports
  2. 13 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

New Freedom Consumer Directed Services

Consumer-directed

1915(c) waiver WA.0443 · DSHS ALTSA with Area Agency on Aging care consultants

Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 3 steps
  1. Personal care workers come through CDWA or a contracted agency
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 9 steps
  1. Apply for Apple Health long-term services and supports
  2. 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Community Options Program Entry System (COPES)

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waiver WA.0049 · DSHS ALTSA

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 5 steps
  1. Meet the service-specific qualification
  2. 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Apply for Apple Health long-term services and supports
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Developmental Disabilities Administration HCBS waivers (DDA)

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waivers WA.0409, WA.0410, WA.1186, WA.40669 · DSHS Developmental Disabilities Community Services

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps
  1. Choose provider route
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 13 steps
  1. Apply for DDA eligibility
  2. 12 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)

PACE

1934 PACE · DSHS ALTSA with CMS

PACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 3 steps
  1. PACE organization application to CMS with state assurance
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 5 steps
  1. Express interest during CARE assessment or contact a PO
  2. 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordManaged-care plansHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

WA Cares Fund (Long-Term Services and Supports Trust)

State-funded

state-funded payroll-premium insurance program (RCW 50B.04) · DSHS with Employment Security Department and Health Care Authority

State-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; run as state funds outside Medicaid, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps
  1. Meet the WA Cares minimum qualifications
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Create a WA Cares account
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesPay rateWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Medicaid Alternative Care and Tailored Supports for Older Adults (MAC)

Other

Section 1115 demonstration (Medicaid Transformation Project) · DSHS ALTSA and Area Agencies on Aging

Another way the state pays for care at home; run as an 1115 demonstration, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?No
How to get set up
Provider track · 3 steps
  1. State license or credential if required
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Contact the AAA or HCS
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesWaiting list or capRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Can family members get paid to be caregivers in Washington?

Yes. Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP), New Freedom Consumer Directed Services, Developmental Disabilities Administration HCBS waivers (DDA), and WA Cares Fund (Long-Term Services and Supports Trust) let a family member be the paid caregiver. Which relatives qualify, including spouses and parents of minor children, is set program by program.

Does Washington have consumer-directed care?

Yes: Community First Choice (CFC) and Medicaid Personal Care (MPC) — individual provider option (IP) and New Freedom Consumer Directed Services. The person receiving care hires and directs their own aide, and a fiscal intermediary handles payroll.

Does Washington have structured family caregiving?

No. Washington does not run a structured family caregiving program. Family caregivers are paid through consumer-directed care instead.

What is the difference between home health and home care in Washington?

Home health (Home Health Services (Apple Health) (HHA)) is medical: nursing, therapy and aide visits ordered by a practitioner and delivered by a licensed home health agency. Home care (Home care agency services) is non-medical help with daily activities, based on functional need.