Program by programFlorida's programs
What each program is and how it differs from the others. Locked details open in the workspace.
Florida Medicaid Home Health Services (home health visits) (HH)
Home healthState Plan home health (42 CFR 440.70; s. 409.905, F.S.); Rule 59G-4.130, F.A.C. · Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA)
Skilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
Can family be paid?No
How to get set up
Provider track · 9 steps- Register the business
- 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps- Medicaid financial eligibility
- 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Florida Medicaid Personal Care Services (PCS)
Agency personal careState Plan personal care / EPSDT (Rule 59G-4.215, F.A.C.) · Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA)
Agency personal care: non-medical daily help from aides a licensed agency employs; run as a Medicaid State Plan benefit, available through fee-for-service and managed care.
Can family be paid?No
How to get set up
Provider track · 9 steps- Register the business
- 8 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 7 steps- Medicaid financial eligibility
- 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Consumer-Directed Care Plus (CDC+)
Consumer-directed1915(j) self-directed personal assistance (concurrent with 1915(c) FL.0867); s. 409.221, F.S. · Agency for Persons with Disabilities (APD) with AHCA
Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(j) self-directed state plan option, paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 5 steps- Single state F/EA
- 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 7 steps- Be on iBudget
- 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Participant Direction Option (PDO)
Consumer-directedSelf-direction option within the SMMC LTC 1915(b)/(c) waiver FL.0962 · Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) through LTC managed care plans
Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as a 1915(b) managed-care waiver, delivered through managed-care plans.
Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps- No separate FI enrollment
- 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 8 steps- Enroll in LTC
- 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Developmental Disabilities Individual Budgeting Waiver (iBudget Florida)
Waiver in-home1915(c) waiver FL.0867 (concurrent 1915(j) for CDC+) · Agency for Persons with Disabilities (APD), with AHCA as Medicaid agency
Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(j) self-directed state plan option, paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps- Register the business
- 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 7 steps- Apply to APD
- 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Statewide Medicaid Managed Care Long-term Care (LTC) Program
Waiver in-home1915(b)/(c) waiver FL.0962 (concurrent); Part IV of Ch. 409, F.S.; Rule 59G-4.192, F.A.C. · Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA); Department of Elder Affairs runs screening and the pre-enrollment list
Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(b) managed-care waiver, delivered through managed-care plans.
Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps- Register the business
- 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 8 steps- Screening
- 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)
PACEPACE (42 CFR Part 460) under the Florida Medicaid State Plan · Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA); Department of Elder Affairs determines level of care
PACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.
Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 5 steps- State PACE application
- 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps- Contact a PACE organization
- 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateWaiting list or capManaged-care plansHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Home Care for the Elderly (HCE)
State-fundedState-funded (ss. 430.601-430.608, F.S.) · Florida Department of Elder Affairs through Area Agencies on Aging
State-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; run as state funds outside Medicaid, paid fee-for-service.
Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 2 steps- No provider enrollment for the subsidy
- 1 more step: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 5 steps- Contact the ADRC
- 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsPay rateEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details → Home Health Aide for Medically Fragile Children Program (Family Home Health Aide services) (FHHA)
Others. 400.4765, F.S.; Florida Medicaid Home Health Services Coverage Policy (Rule 59G-4.130, F.A.C.) · Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA), with the Board of Nursing for training approval
Another way the state pays for care at home; available through fee-for-service and managed care.
Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 10 steps- Register the business
- 9 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 7 steps- Medicaid financial eligibility
- 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerPay rateWaiting list or capManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →