Skip to content
Home care programs · Tennessee

Tennessee home care programs

Tennessee pays for care at home through 8 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Consumer Direction (CDTN). Family members can be paid caregivers in 6 of them.

Verified Oct 9, 2026Sources: official state and federal agencies

Programs
8
Consumer-directed
Yes
Family can be paid
Yes
Structured family caregiving
No
On this page
Programs

Every way Tennessee pays for care at home

Tennessee pays for care at home through 8 programs. Consumer-directed care is available through Consumer Direction (CDTN). Family members can be paid caregivers in 6 of them.

ProgramTypeCan family be paidHow it differs
Home health services (TennCare) (HHA)State Plan home health under the TennCare III 1115 demonstrationHome healthYesSkilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.
Consumer Direction (CDTN)Option within the TennCare III 1115 demonstration (CHOICES, ECF CHOICES)Consumer-directedYesConsumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.
CHOICES in Long-Term Services and Supports1115 demonstration (TennCare III)Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.
Department of Disability and Aging 1915(c) waivers1915(c) waivers TN.0128, TN.0357, TN.0427Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.
Employment and Community First CHOICES1115 demonstration (TennCare III)Waiver in-homeYesWaiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)State Plan PACE (42 CFR Part 460)PACENoPACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.
OPTIONS for Community Livingstate-fundedState-fundedNot statedState-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; run as state funds outside Medicaid, paid fee-for-service.
Family Caregiver Stipend (FCS)Benefit within ECF CHOICES Group 4 (TennCare III 1115)OtherYesAnother way the state pays for care at home; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.
Guide

Home health vs home care vs consumer-directed care in Tennessee

What each kind of program is, who employs the caregiver and when a family member can be paid.

Home health: the medical benefit

In Tennessee, skilled home health is Home health services (TennCare) (HHA). It is a medical benefit: a doctor or other practitioner orders nursing, therapy or home health aide visits under a written plan of care, and the visits stop when the skilled need ends.

Only a licensed home health agency enrolled with Tennessee Medicaid can bill it, and the agency's own nurses, therapists and aides make the visits.

Home care: non-medical personal care through an agency

Help with bathing, dressing, eating and household tasks is "home care" or personal care. In Tennessee it is paid through the programs below rather than a separate agency personal care benefit.

Consumer-directed care: the person hires their own aide

Tennessee's consumer-directed option is Consumer Direction (CDTN). The person receiving care, or a representative, recruits, hires, trains, schedules and supervises the aide, and can let go of one. A fiscal intermediary runs payroll, taxes and background checks, so the person never handles wages directly.

This is the route most families use to be paid: Consumer Direction (CDTN) allows a relative to be hired as the paid aide. Which relatives qualify (adult children, parents of adults, spouses, legal guardians) and how a live-in caregiver is treated are set program by program.

Structured family caregiving: a paid live-in family caregiver

Tennessee has no structured family caregiving program. A family caregiver is paid instead through consumer-directed care (Consumer Direction (CDTN)), by the hour, as the participant's chosen aide.

Other ways Tennessee pays for care at home

Waiver in-home services: CHOICES in Long-Term Services and Supports, Department of Disability and Aging 1915(c) waivers, and Employment and Community First CHOICES. These pay for in-home supports for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care, often with more services than state plan personal care and, in some programs, a waiting list or enrollment cap.

PACE: Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE). One PACE organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over who need nursing-home level care.

State-funded: OPTIONS for Community Living. Paid from state funds outside Medicaid, for people who do not qualify for Medicaid or are waiting for it.

Also: Family Caregiver Stipend (FCS).

Which one fits

  • Needs nursing, wound care, injections or therapy at home: home health (Home health services (TennCare) (HHA)).
  • Wants to choose the aide, including a relative where allowed: Consumer Direction (CDTN).
  • Meets nursing-home level of care and needs more than personal care: CHOICES in Long-Term Services and Supports, Department of Disability and Aging 1915(c) waivers, and Employment and Community First CHOICES.
In the workspace

Tennessee program rules, side by side

Eligibility, the family caregiver rules (spouses, parents, live-in caregivers), employer of record, fiscal intermediary, caregiver training, provider requirements, how to enroll, published pay, EVV and waiting lists: 87 details across 8 programs.

ProgramFamily rulesEmployerEligibilityPay
See Tennessee's program rules — start free

Who can be paid, who employs the caregiver, what each program requires of agencies and caregivers, how to become a provider and what it pays, for all 8 programs.

  • Family caregiver rules
  • Provider requirements
  • CSV export
Program by program

Tennessee's programs

What each program is and how it differs from the others. Locked details open in the workspace.

Home health services (TennCare) (HHA)

Home health

State Plan home health under the TennCare III 1115 demonstration · Division of TennCare

Skilled home health: nursing, therapy and aide visits under a plan of care from a licensed home health agency; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 8 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 7 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 5 steps
  1. TennCare coverage
  2. 4 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Consumer Direction (CDTN)

Consumer-directed

Option within the TennCare III 1115 demonstration (CHOICES, ECF CHOICES) · Division of TennCare; MCOs

Consumer-directed care: the participant hires and directs their own aide, with payroll handled for them; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 2 steps
  1. Statewide FEA contract
  2. 1 more step: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Apply
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordFiscal intermediaryCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

CHOICES in Long-Term Services and Supports

Waiver in-home

1115 demonstration (TennCare III) · Division of TennCare via MCOs; intake through Area Agencies on Aging and Disability

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Apply
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordCaregiver requirementsProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Department of Disability and Aging 1915(c) waivers

Waiver in-home

1915(c) waivers TN.0128, TN.0357, TN.0427 · Tennessee Department of Disability and Aging

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as a 1915(c) home and community-based services waiver, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 3 steps
  1. Check enrollment status
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Employment and Community First CHOICES

Waiver in-home

1115 demonstration (TennCare III) · Division of TennCare via MCOs, with the Department of Disability and Aging

Waiver in-home services: supports at home for people who meet a nursing-home or similar level of care; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 7 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 6 steps
  1. Self-referral
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerEVVWaiting list or capManaged-care plansRecent changesHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)

PACE

State Plan PACE (42 CFR Part 460) · Division of TennCare

PACE: one organization covers medical care, a day center and home care for people 55 and over; run as the PACE benefit, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?No
How to get set up
Provider track · 6 steps
  1. Form the PACE organization
  2. 5 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 7 steps
  1. Check the service area
  2. 6 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredFamily caregiver rulesEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

OPTIONS for Community Living

State-funded

state-funded · Tennessee Department of Disability and Aging through nine Area Agencies on Aging and Disability

State-funded home care: paid outside Medicaid, usually for people who do not qualify for it; run as state funds outside Medicaid, paid fee-for-service.

Can family be paid?Not stated
How to get set up
Provider track · 2 steps
  1. Form the business
  2. 1 more step: forms, fees, timelines and links
Family / participant track · 3 steps
  1. Call the AAAD
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredEmployer of recordProvider requirementsHow to become a providerWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →

Family Caregiver Stipend (FCS)

Other

Benefit within ECF CHOICES Group 4 (TennCare III 1115) · Division of TennCare via MCOs

Another way the state pays for care at home; run as an 1115 demonstration, delivered through managed-care plans.

Can family be paid?Yes
How to get set up
Provider track · 1 step
  1. No provider enrollment
Family / participant track · 3 steps
  1. Be in ECF CHOICES Group 4
  2. 2 more steps: forms, fees, timelines and links
Open the full checklist →
EligibilityServices coveredHours or budgetFamily caregiver rulesPay rateEVVWaiting list or capHow it differs, in detailSetup checklistUnlock the details →
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Can family members get paid to be caregivers in Tennessee?

Yes. Home health services (TennCare) (HHA), Consumer Direction (CDTN), CHOICES in Long-Term Services and Supports, Department of Disability and Aging 1915(c) waivers, Employment and Community First CHOICES, and Family Caregiver Stipend (FCS) let a family member be the paid caregiver. Which relatives qualify, including spouses and parents of minor children, is set program by program.

Does Tennessee have consumer-directed care?

Yes: Consumer Direction (CDTN). The person receiving care hires and directs their own aide, and a fiscal intermediary handles payroll.

Does Tennessee have structured family caregiving?

No. Tennessee does not run a structured family caregiving program. Family caregivers are paid through consumer-directed care instead.

What is the difference between home health and home care in Tennessee?

Home health (Home health services (TennCare) (HHA)) is medical: nursing, therapy and aide visits ordered by a practitioner and delivered by a licensed home health agency. Home care is non-medical help with daily activities, based on functional need.